If you're a homeschool family and have a teen in the house, I'm certain that you've probably had the dreaded discussion ... "When can I learn to drive?"
I remember when I was homeschooling and started thinking about homeschool drivers ed. Sometimes I'd get hung up on ONE small issue that would drive me completely BATTY! I remember wishing for ANYONE to give me one clear, concise, yes-or-no answer. This was one of those issues I seemed to stress about. Wendy asked a question I asked myself years ago!
Hi Lee,by Author
I'm putting together my first transcript and I've seen differing credits (.25/.50)/grades for Drivers Education on samples. I have to be honest, I guess I hadn't thought of putting it on her transcript and I don't know, it feels like a gimme or fluff to put it on there. So I thought I would get your thoughts. She did complete 24 hours of classroom instruction through a training school. I signed an affidavit verifying that she drove 50 hours as required by law, but I didn't keep all the dates and minutes she drove before going for her driver's test and she passed her driver's test the first time. Your thoughts?
Being driven crazy in Ohio ~ Wendy
Once that you've accepted the truth of the fact that your kids are growing up and it will soon be time for them to drive, you can take action and figure out all of the ins-and-outs of curriculum (if you use one), how to put it on the transcript, etc. Public school kids often have the advantage of having an organized class to attend, but as homeschoolers we don't typically have that luxury. Even in a co-op, the insurance probably wouldn't allow for that type of class to be offered. However, there's no need to panic. Here were my suggestions for Wendy.
I felt EXACTLY the same way!!!
This is what I did: I put it on the transcript, gave it 0.5 credits, and put "Pass" as a grade.
Now I'm older and wiser and this is what I suggest: Put it on the transcript, give 0.5 credits, and put "A" on the grade.
Need help figuring out how to make your college admission documents? Let me show you how to create all your records! Register for my free class here: Homeschool Records That Open Doors Webinarby Author
Some families want to use a formal curriculum or, just flat out don't feel comfortable teaching their kids how to drive. Of course, for a class like homeschool drivers ed there are many ways to go about teaching this class.
I hope homeschool drivers ed doesn't drive you crazy like it did for Wendy and me. I hope I've given you some peace of mind as you enter the scary teenage years!
Thanks for the tip about curriculum in Texas. Taking drivers ed AND having a homeschool transcript will often earn the "Good student discount" for most care insurance in most states. That's a good reason to always make a transcript.
Once my daughter got her license and I was adding her as a driver to our policy, the insurance representative asked me whether she took parent instructed or a class with curriculum. We live in Texas, and there are certain parent-taught programs that have curriculum that is on a state approved list. When I told her that we did parent taught, but that we used a curriculum off of the state approved list, the quoted price for insurance went down significantly. I didn’t know that it mattered as long as she passed the tests!
Lee, maybe give parents the tip to check with their insurance company whether there’s a list of pre-approved curriculum for their state, and to check the prices of just parent taught, parent taught with approved curriculum, and driver’s ed school taught. I was surprised to know that each affected our insurance premium.